Edit your model

Eventually you may want to make changes to your spreadsheet after you already have people using it. Making changes may impact the compatibility between versions of your spreadsheets. This article will help explain the important aspects to consider when making changes.


 

Understanding modifications to your spreadsheet

When you first create a HiveLink workbook you define a structure that is shared between the user spreadsheet and your original “expert” spreadsheet. The structure consists of the input tables, containing the data you receive from your users, and the output tables that you send back to the user. The structural metadata is magically stored in your spreadsheet (in the spreadsheet’s custom XML parts).

If you add a crucial extra table to the inputs in the expert spreadsheet then ultimately that change must end up in the user spreadsheet. After editing the expert spreadsheet you must then generate a new user spreadsheet that also has that extra table defined in the HiveLink structural metadata. If you need to use the HiveLink Expert Wizard, in edit-mode, to make your changes then you must re-finalize it and then generate a new user spreadsheet.

You can then upload that new user spreadsheet via the HiveLink Data Inbox for your users to access from your web page. However, if you are only making simple changes that don’t require the HiveLink Expert Wizard – for example updating sheet formulas, renaming sheets, adding data sources, or updating macros – then no changes need to be made to the underlying HiveLink structure and you don’t need to re-finalize.


 

How to make changes to your model

To make changes to your expert model you have to use the HiveLink Expert Wizard in the HiveLink Expert ribbon tab in Excel. Open your expert workbook and click Edit Configuration. Then you may access the controls to edit your model accordingly.

Once you have finished making changes you must Finalize your spreadsheet again. If you already have users using your model with various permissions you may want to maintain that existing structure, in which case you should use the existing name when finalizing the model.

If you finalize the model with the same name as an existing model HiveLink creates a new revision for that model, allowing you to avoid conflicts with jobs submitted to older versions of your spreadsheet. When editing your model it is important to select the correct revision to make changes to. You may want jobs submitted as older revisions to be processed by older versions of the spreadsheet, or you may want them to be processed with the new version. It is up to you how each revision gets processed, and you can configure a different expert spreadsheet to process each revision from the revision configuration window in the Data Inbox.

HiveLink model revisions configuration window
 
 


Troubleshoot Add advanced features